Agenda Item No: Report No:

Report Title: Appointments 2011/12

Report To: Council Date: 25 May 2011

Ward(s) Affected: All

Report By: Leader of the Council Elect

- 1 The political composition of the Council is 22 Conservative, 18 Liberal Democrat and Councillor C R O'Keeffe who is currently not a member of any group.
- The Leader of the Council **Recommends** that the allocation of places between the political groups as shown in Appendix B, subject to the amendments detailed below, be noted and agreed.
- 3 Under Section 15 of the Local Government & Housing Act 1989, the Council has a duty to review the political balance at the Annual Meeting of the Council.

Review Procedure

- The principles for carrying out a review of Committee Proportionality are set out in the Local Government & Housing Act 1989, Section 15(5) extract of the Act set out at Appendix A to this report.
- **5** Each Group's fraction of membership converts to a percentage as follows:

Conservative Group $\frac{22}{1}$ = 53.66%

41

Liberal Democrat $\underline{18} = 43.90\%$

Group 41

- In turn, these percentages convert to representation on the various sizes of the Council's Committees as shown in Appendix B.
- 7 A political group can only be treated as being constituted when it comprises two or more members of the Council.
- The table in Appendix B calculating the places on individual committees (Part 1 of Appendix B) shows the following totals:

Conservative Group - 28 places Liberal Democrat Group - 21 places **9** However, when the total number of committee places of 49 is subjected to the political group percentages (the duty set out at principle (c) in Appendix A and which takes precedence over principle (d) in Appendix A), this gives a total allocation of:

Conservative Group - 26 places (26.293) Liberal Democrat Group - 22 places (21.512)

leaving 1 place remaining for the non-group member Councillor O'Keeffe.

- 10 It will be seen from paragraphs 8 and 9 above and the Appendix that the Conservative Group has two more places than it is entitled to. It is therefore necessary for the table in Part 1 of Appendix B to be adjusted by the allocation of one of the Conservative Group's places to Councillor O'Keeffe.
- 11 The Conservative Group has therefore offered one of its places on the Licensing Committee to Councillor O'Keeffe and this offer has been accepted.
- 12 Under principle (d) the Liberal Democrat Group would receive one seat from the Conservative Group but principle (b) that the group with the majority of councillors is allocated a majority on each body takes precedence and therefore, on this occasion, no redistribution can take place without increasing committee membership and the proportionality calculated by applying principle (c) stands.
- On the "Other Bodies" part 2 of the Appendix, under principle (d) the Liberal Democrat Group would receive 2 seats from the Conservative Group and Councillor O'Keeffe 1 seat from the Conservative Group but principle (b) that the group with the majority of councillors is allocated a majority on each body takes precedence and therefore, on this occasion, no redistribution can take place and the proportionality calculated by applying principle (c) stands.
- 14 The Conservative Group has offered one of its places on the Landport Bottom Management Committee (see Report No 84/11) to Councillor O'Keeffe and this offer has been accepted.
- As a matter of law, the political proportionality rules only apply to "ordinary committees and sub-committees" of the Council. These rules do not apply to the Cabinet. Additionally, the Local Government Act 2000 specifically provides that Standards Committees are not bodies to which the political proportionality rules apply. The Licensing Act 2003 and the associated Guidance and Regulations are silent as to whether the Licensing Committee needs to be politically balanced and the Licensing Committee has therefore been included in the calculation in the Appendix.
- The Leader of the Council therefore **Recommends** that the allocation of seats on the Standards Committee for the municipal year 2011/12 be as follows (proportionality is shown as Conservative Group Liberal Democrat Group):

Standards Committee: 3-2

- As a matter of law, the power to appoint the membership of Cabinet now rests with the Leader of the Council. In light of this, the Leader of the Council will announce the appointments to the membership of the Cabinet, the individual areas of responsibility allocated to the Cabinet and the allocation of those areas of responsibility to the members of the Cabinet at the meeting.
- The Leader of the Council and the Leader of the Minority Group **Recommend** that their own Groups' membership of Committees etc for the municipal year 2011/2012, based on the political structure and the political balance in the Appendix and taking account of the adjustments referred to above, be as follows:

Proportionality is shown as Conservative Group – Liberal Democrat Group:

Audit Committee	Membership 7 (4-3)
-----------------	--------------------

R Blackman I Eiloart (Chair)
P L Franklin M P Chartier
J M Harrison-Hicks J Stockdale
C Sugarman

Complaints Panel This Panel comprises three councillors

who have not had any direct involvement

in the complaint.

Devolution Committee Membership 7 (4-3)

E C Merry P F Gardiner
R Robertson D Gray
A X Smith C S Lambert

B M Warren

Employment Committee Membership 5 (3-2)

J V S Page (Chair) S J Gauntlett R Blackman S Saunders A X Smith

Licensing Committee Membership 10 (6-4 becomes 5-4-1, see

paragraph 11 above)

A X Smith (Chair) G R Amy C R O'Keeffe

P Gander C Butler R Robertson S J Gauntlett C Sugarman J Stockdale

B M Warren

Planning Applications

Committee

Membership 11 (6-5)

P A Howson (Chair)

J M Harrison-Hicks (Vice-Chair)

S B Davy

J V Harris

A T Jones

R E Allen

A Dean

I Eiloart

P F Gardiner

R Main

B M Warren

Scrutiny Committee

Membership 9 (5-4)

S Adeniji S J Osborne (Chair)

R Blackman A Dean P A Howson D Gray

E C Merry S J Gauntlett

E E J Russell

Standards Committee

Membership 5 (3-2)

J M Harrison-Hicks C S Lambert E E J Russell M P Chartier

H J F Sheppard

The following Sub-Committees/Working Groups no longer need to be appointed as they have concluded the business for which they were originally established:

- Local Development Framework Panel;
- Safety Testing of Memorials in Cemeteries and Closed Churchyards Sub-Committee;
- Sustainable Communities Act Working Party.

The following Sub-Committees/Working Groups need to be appointed or re-appointed in order to continue the business for which they were originally established:

Housing Working Party Membership 7 (4-3)

from membership of Council

R K Maskell (Chair) M P Chartier S Adeniji S J Osborne S B Davy S Saunders

A X Smith

Lewes House Site Sub-Committee

Membership 3 (from membership of Cabinet)

I A Nicholson A T Jones J V S Page

Southover Grange Sub-Committee

Membership 3 (from membership of

Cabinet)

S B Davy D R Edmunds H J F Sheppard

Travellers Working Group

Membership 6 (4-2)

S B Davy (Chair)

D R Edmunds

P Gander

R K Maskell

The nominations of the Majority Group for the appointment of Chairs (and of the Minority Group for the appointment of the Chairs of the Audit and Scrutiny Committees) are indicated above and the Leader of the Council **Recommends** that the appointments be approved and that the remaining Chairs be appointed at the first meetings of the bodies concerned.

Councillor I A Nicholson Leader of the Council Elect 20 May 2011